A Commentary on the Doctrine and Covenants

I’ve got this itch to do another book and the sermon book is not even fully drafted. This would be strictly online I think. A D&C commentary. I don’t think I would engage too much with a devotional thing. I’ve always figured that to be above my pay grade (and most others who venture that way — ;) ). But it would *have* to be fun to do. And it might even be useful. Probably a bad idea, but you never know.

6 Responses to A Commentary on the Doctrine and Covenants

  1. ricke says:

    How about some sort of collaborative effort over the web? Maybe something on the order of a wiki? Have you checked out what is possible at http://feastupontheword.org/?

    • WVS says:

      Just looking at that link, *very* briefly, I would envision what might nearly be the polar opposite in terms of content. But it could be a collaborative effort. More formal though I think. Just blowing smoke at this point.

  2. J. Stapley says:

    I think that we are on the same page, WVS.

  3. Dustin says:

    Focusing primarily on the revisions in the text?

    • WVS says:

      That would be one aspect, but more on the historical meaning contemporaries attached to the text, what circumstances drew it forth, what cultural issues did it speak to, how did it fit with discursive patterns or meanings in American religious culture, etc., things like that. And I suppose, In other words, probably not an eye-level Deseret Book item.

  4. Tod Robbins says:

    I’m willing to help. Sign me up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

