KFD5: The June 16, 1844 Discourse

Sometimes called the “Sermon in the Grove,” this speech is the last of the Sunday sermons of JS.
I really don’t have too much to say about this right now except that the manuscript evidence is fascinating. Of course you’re reading a text geek here. The manuscript development up to publication in the Deseret News is just downright cool. The variants after that are interesting to me, but the fun part so far is in 1844 and 1855-6. I think that this will result in some changes in the way we see this discourse and its content as a Church (ok, that’s probably over-stepping things, but it is fun stuff). Anyway, it’s a very interesting text and I promise to display some of this as I get things more settled with the gene-critical stuff. Over at BCC I’m going to put up some of the genetic text for KFD2 (King Follett sermon to you) or KFD1, sometime after things die down over there.

3 Responses to KFD5: The June 16, 1844 Discourse

  1. J. Stapley says:

    I admit, I got all sorts of giddy as I read this.

  2. Steve Evans says:

    Come on, give us some meat here!

  3. WVS says:

    Be calm guys.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

